Birds eye view of Ayurveda

  • Author: Healthkarma

Ayurveda is the “science of life” and according to Ayurveda, health is not simply absence of disease. It is rather a state of balance between body, mind and consciousness.

On a physical level, good health is an effective and natural balance and flow of :

On energy level, a good flow in vital body channels called “strotas” is required, since through this our energies flow. If they get blocked, people become ill.

It has four tools or pillars through which it seeks to achieve this:

Each individual is blessed with a dosha nature called “prakruti” which is different from the other. These differences need to be honored and worked with. So we need to behave in ways that honor our unique nature and the environment around us which we are a part of.  So behavior, language, expression, profession, habits are all due to our prakruti and we need to understand, focus and act accordingly.

2. Food

Food is the most important key to healing our bodies. We need to eat as per our nature, seasons, environment, time of the day etc

But first we need to know if we are” Food Fiend or a Friend “ – Take a quiz here to know how do we connect with our food and our body?

Please click here to read more about what food we should we eat, how we should cook

3. Herbs (As medicines)

Like food, herbs can be used to support and replenish our vital 7 tissues or for cleansing and removing any obstacles to the clear functioning of our system as required.

4. Thoughts & Emotions

Emotions such as anger fear and anxiety are due to our daily interactions in our close relationships. These are the reactions in our body & mind due to our inattention to the moment.  And these toxic emotions will be undigested and have a similar poisonous effect as  bad food combinations, with indigestion, gas, bloating, diarrhoea etc

For optimum health, it is extremely important to have love, clarity and happiness in your daily relationships.

  • three doshas – Vata / Pitta / Kapha – which is nothing but a unique combination of 5 elements of nature, in each being.
  • Agni – which is the digestive fire,
  • seven dhatus – rasa / rakta / mamsa / meda / asthi / majja / shukra & artav – being the 7 layers in a person’s body starting from superficial plasma – blood – fat – muscle – bone to the deepest being bone marrow and reproductive organs.
  • effective elimination of three wastes (feces, urine, sweat) in the body – collectively called malas
  • and lastly clearing out “Ama” which is the toxins that have accumulated in the body due to improper digestion or absorption from a poor environment or even mishandling of our thoughts and emotions.
    1. Actions- Behaviour / Meditation / Sex / Exercise